Boards & Commissions

Board of Public Works and Safety

The Board of Public Works and Safety consists of three members appointed by the mayor. The mayor serves as one of the three members. Board members must be residents of the city but may hold other municipal appointed or elected offices. The Clerk-Treasurer is the clerk of the board. The Board oversees various public works projects, the city’s water utility, the city’s wastewater utility, and the public safety work of the police and fire departments. The powers of the board are outlined in various sections of Title 36 of the Indiana Code.

View Past Board of Works and Safety Agendas and Minutes

The Board of Public Works and Safety meets the third Wednesday of the month at 4:30 p.m., at City Hall. Special meetings may be called from time to time.

Board of Zoning Appeals

Of the five members of the Board of Zoning Appeals, the mayor appoints two at large members and one from the Plan Commission, one member is appointed by the Plan Commission from between its two members from the unincorporated area around the city, and one member is appointed by the Common Council. The board hears requests for development standards variances, use variances, special exception uses and flood hazard area standards variances.

For more information visit the Planning and Zoning

The Board of Zoning Appeals meets as needed on the first Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m., at City Hall.

Cemetery Board

Mayor appoints members. Term of office is four years.

Meets first Tuesday of the Month, 3:30p at Forrest Hill Cemetery, 2181 S County Rd 50.

Citizens Advisory Commission for Industrial Development

Mayor appoints members annually.

Meets as needed on the first Wednesday of the month, 8:00a at City Hall.

Commission on Sustainability

Mayor appoints three members; City Council appoints three; three appointed by Commission itself; one Council appointment shall be a Council member; Mayor shall be ex-officio. No more than four Commissioners may live outside the City’s corporate limit.

Click here to view the Native Plant Gardening PDF

Meets second Tuesday of the Month at 5:00 p.m. at City Hall.

Greencastle Community Schools

The City Council appoints two, Greencastle Township Advisory Board appoints two, Madison Township Advisory Board appoints one. Term of office is four years. Superintendent of Greencastle Community Schools, appointed by its Board of Trustees.

Meets fourth Monday of each month.

Parks and Recreation Board

Mayor appoints 4 members, Library Board appoints one of its own members, School Board appoints one of its own members. Term of office is four years for regular members and one year for ex officio members.

Meets first Wednesday of the month, 7:00 pm at City Hall or TBA.

Plan Commission

Mayor appoints five members; County Commissioners appoint two; City Council appoints one. Park Board appoints one. Board of Works appoints one; Indiana Statute places engineer on Commission.

Meets as needed on the fourth Monday of each month, 7:00p at City Hall.

Putnam County Housing Authority

Meet third Thursday of the month.

Redevelopment Commission

Mayor appoints three members and a nonvoting adviser from Greencastle Community Schools Corporation Board of Trustees, City Council appoints two.

Meets fourth Wednesday of each month, 5:30p at City Hall.

Tree Board

Mayor appoints 3 members; City of Greencastle Ordinance 1998-10 places Street Commissioner and a City Councilor on Board. Term of office is three years.

Meets second Wednesday of January, April, July, and October, 4:00p at City Hall.